Section A to release 3rd album in May

image - see following caption
Photo: Section A

Danish heavy/progressive band Section A return after an absence of 4 years with their third album, Sacrifice. Led by the rich vocals of Andy Engberg and the virtuoso guitar work of Torben Enevoldsen (Acacia Avenue, Fatal Force), the band is completed by new drummer Thomas Heintzelmann (Decoy) for the new album.

Set to be released on May 21st, Sacrifice marks a heavier and more direct approach from Section A, with a more streamlined song oriented approach than its two predecessors. The progressive elements of the past are used more sparingly this time round, and lyrically there is no concept to follow, yet the album does tread a similar ground in lyric subject matter.

On the music's direction, Torben Enevoldsen comments: “Musically, this album is a bit heavier and more straight forward than our previous efforts. The songs are perhaps also a bit faster and more energetic. It's, however, basically still a blend of very melodic hard rock and metal, with a slight touch of Prog. The initial writing actually began right after the release of Parallel Lives, back in 2006. The writing and recording sessions then went on and off during 2007 and 2008, until the album was finally completed in September of 2009. I did most of the recordings here in my own studio in Copenhagen, but Andy's vocals were recorded at Stonetower Studios in Stockholm”.

Continuing the band's tradition of having a first rate keyboardist come in and play solos, Lasse FinbrÃ¥ten of Circus Maximus adds his distinctive style and creates a nice collection of solo exchanges with Enevoldsen on “Land Of The Desert Sun”.