1. Rammstein, a threat to the state of Belarus

    Authorities in Belarus have declared Germany's legendary hard rock band Rammstein a threat to the state. They questioned an upcoming concert in Minsk, saying that letting it go on would be a “costly mistake” for the country. Rammstein's music could “destroy the Belarusian state system”, said the country's Council for Morality on Monday. The Council described the band's songs as … (read on)

  2. First bands for Heineken Jammin' Festival

    AEROSMITH, GREEN DAY, PEARL JAM and SKUNK ANANSIE are the first confirmed bands for this year’s Heineken Jammin’ Festival, set to take place July 3-6 at San Giuliano Park in Mestre, Venice, Italy. (read on)

  3. Therion tour announced

    Swedish progressive/experimental metallers THERION will embark on a European tour in October/November. Support on the trek will come from LEPROUS and LOCH VOSTOK. (read on)

  4. Avantasia new release

    EDGUY frontman Tobias Sammet's AVANTASIA project will celebrate its comeback this spring with a new epic masterpiece, to be released on April 3, 2010 as regular CDs, two separate double picture vinyls, and as a beautiful collector's edition with an AVANTASIA picture book. The deluxe box set will feature two CDs in two digibooks with impressive booklets, codes for online … (read on)

  5. New release from Mantric

    MANTRIC, the Norwegian metal band featuring former members of metal visionaries EXTOL, will release its debut album, “The Descent”, on april 27 (one day earlier interntationally via Prosthetic Records. The CD was recorded in Norway, with Danish producer Tue Madsen (HALFORD, BEHEMOTH, KATAKLYSM, THE HAUNTED) handling mixing and mastering duties at his Antfarm facility in Ã…rhus, Denmark. (read on)

  6. AC/DC sales boost following tour start

    According to Undercover.com.au, AC/DC has had a sales boost following the start of the band's Australian tour, with five of its albums reappearing in the ARIA (Australian Recording Industry Association) chart this week. AC/DC's most recent studio album, “Black Ice”, jumped from No. 23 to No. 11 while “Backtracks” went from No. 61 to No. 39, “Live” from No. 89 … (read on)

  7. Hacride change drummer

    French progressive metal band HACRIDE has parted ways with original drummer Olivier Laffond and are welcoming new member Mike Roponus (OM MANI) into their ranks. HACRIDE vocalist Samuel Bourreau explains, “We've been using Mike's services over the past few months because of Olivier's wife pregnancy. It was originally supposed to be a temporary situation but he decided to quit the … (read on)

  8. Whitesnake signed with Frontiers Records

    Frontiers Records is very proud to announce the signing of legendary rock band WHITESNAKE. David Coverdale and band are gearing up for their latest endeavour. WHITESNAKE has already started composing new material that promises to deliver one of the finest chapters in WHITESNAKE'S career. “We are off to a very good start, with the new songs taking positive shape. It … (read on)

  9. Angra begin recording their 7th album

    Brazilian metallers ANGRA entered Norcal Studios in São Paulo, Brazil on February 17 to begin recording their seventh studio album, to be released in the second half of 2010. For the first time since its inception, the band is self-producing the as-yet-untitled follow-up to 2006's “Aurora Consurgens”, which will be a conceptual effort and will include 10 songs. (read on)

  10. Simone Simons to sing on Kamelot's new album

    Singer Simone Simons of Dutch symphonic metallers EPICA recently recorded her vocal parts that will be featured on KAMELOT's forthcoming CD. Simone joins KAMELOT vocalist Roy Khan on the band's newest ballad, “House On A Hill”, as well the title track of KAMELOT's new album. Simone — the longtime girlfriend of KAMELOT keyboardist Oliver Palotai — previously appeared on the … (read on)

  11. Fleshgod Apocalypse new album

    Rome, Italy-based death metal band FLESHGOD APOCALYPSE have completed work on a new EP entitled “Mafia” at 16th Cellar Studios in the group's hometown, with producer Stefano “Saul” Morabito. The CD will be released on June 8 via Willowtip Records. (read on)

  12. Mats Levén to play with Adagio

    French neo-classical metallers ADAGIO have recruited Swedish vocalist Mats Levén (KRUX, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN, THERION, TREAT) for their upcoming European tour as the support act for KAMELOT. (read on)

  13. Fates Warning album release

    Fates Warning has announced the release of the deluxe edition of their seminal 1991 album, Parallels! Fans can get their hands on this new take on the album on March 16th, 2010. The deluxe edition has been completely re-mastered and contains well over 3 hours of music and live footage. Parallels is the sixth record from the prog metal pioneers … (read on)

  14. Diablo Swing Orchestra change drummer

    Drummer Andreas Halvardsson has left the Swedish avant-garde rock band DIABLO SWING ORCHESTRA for “personal reasons” and has been replaced by Petter Karlsson (ex-THERION, HOLOCOASTER). The band states, “We've only had one rehearsal together so far, but we were all blown away by [Petter's] drumming. Petter is also a skilled songwriter, so it will be interesting to see what he … (read on)

  15. Final confirmations for Neurotic Deathfest

    BENEDICTION & MALIGNANCY complete line-up at Neurotic Deathfest. For a complete list of bands and information about the festival that is going to take place in Tilburg, Nl, at the end of april, visit the festival's web page (read on)

  16. Helloween upcoming acoustic performances

    German power metallers HELLOWEEN will promote their 25th-anniversary album, “Unarmed - Best Of 25th Anniversary”, by taking part in acoustic performances at select German record stores. “Unarmed - Best Of 25th Anniversary” will feature the following tracks: Dr. Stein Future World If I Could Fly Where The Rain Grows The Keeper's Trilogy Eagle Fly Free Perfect Gentleman Forever & One … (read on)

  17. New video from Charly Sahona's debut album

    The lead track “Relieved” taken from the debut solo album from Venturia guitarist Charly Sahona “Naked Thoughts From A Silent Chaos”, set for release on 19.2.2010 can be viewed below. Video editing and production by Franck Hermanny (Adagio), who is also playing bass in the video. (read on)